Happy Easter To All!

Posted: March 31, 2013 in Bible, Christianity, Current Events, Israel, Miscellany, Religion
Tags: , , , , ,
Jesus

Jesus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Just a quick post before I get to go to church.

I often think of the story in Luke where Christ’s followers went to the tomb carrying oils and spices.  These items were used in burial services for the dead.  Simple enough to understand if these same followers had no knowledge that Jesus would rise from the grave, the interesting thing is that they DID know he was to rise from the grave and it was in unbelief that they sought to attend his body.  To me this is a wonderful hope for those who struggle with doubts about Jesus.  If the people who witnessed His miracles in the flesh had a hard time believing in his resurrection, how much harder would it be for people 2000 years later?  To me it shows us that God understands our fallibility perfectly, I mean he had stationed an angel in the tomb to wait for the mourners!  If they were loved and saved in their imperfect belief how much more grace will God provide to us?  I struggled with doubts for many years, but upon reading and understanding this story I felt freed.  It is ok to question and seek, in fact I think it is encouraged.  God wants Hot or Cold in our feelings towards Him, and research and questioning is the only way to learn.  I just would like to thank God publicly for the life and death and resurrection of His son, so that I may be freed from the bondage of sin and saved unto eternal life!  HOW COOL IS THAT?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. Our sermon yesterday was from the gospel of Luke. When my sister wanted to name her son, Luke was one of the names they were comtemplating. I told them that Luke is one of my favourite gospels, and I like the name. They did decide on the name Luke.

    Unfortunately, Luke was born dead. Thankfully, after a while, they revived him, but the first month of his life was spent in the NICU. The nurses all called him the miracle baby. These days, it would be a miracle if we could get him to stop talking! He’s awfully endearing…..

    See what happens when my mind goes off on a tangent?

  2. saneromeo says:

    I understand completely (the tangent thing…I always think of tangerines). I’m glad to hear your nephew is as irrepressible as my niece. Its an amazing thing to watch them grow into their personalities. I hope you had a great holiday, I know I did.

  3. Obama’s truth changes daily… thankfully, the Lord of Creation is constant. God bless you and yours.

Leave a Reply

